

PROGRAMME

Day 1 (August 17, 2015, Monday)

8.30 hrs-9.00 hrs Registration

Inaugural Session

9.00 - 9.30 hrs Welcome Remarks: Prof Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS

Remarks: Mr Samir Saran, Vice President, ORF

Mr Alok Dimri, Director(MER), MEA, Government of India

Keynote Address: Prof. V. N Attri, Chair, Indian Ocean Rim Studies, IORA

Vote of Thanks: Dr S K Mohanty, Professor, RIS

Plenary Session-I

9.30-11.00 hrs	 Developing a Comprehensive Accounting Framework for Blue Economy Chair: Mr Alok Dimri, Director (MER), MEA, Government of India Dr Allister Mcilgorm, Marine Economist and Capacity Development Coordinator, University of Wollongong, Australia Prof. V. N Attri, Chair, Indian Ocean Rim Studies, IORA Dr. Ramachandra Bhatta ,Professor and Head and Head of the Division (Fishery Sciences), College of Fisheries, Kankanady, Mangalore Prof. S.K. Mohanty, Professor, RIS, New Delhi, India
11.00-11.30 hrs: Tea	
Plenary Session-II	
11.30 hrs-13.00 hrs	Fisheries and Aquaculture
	 Chair: Dr H P Rajan, Deputy Director (Retired), Division for Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea, UN Mr Rondolph Payet, Secretary General, Indian Ocean Tuna Commission, Seychelles Dr Mary-Ann Palma Robles, Visiting Senior Fellow, University of Wollongong, Australia Mr Chatura Rodrigo, Research Economist, Institute of Policy Studies, Sri Lanka
13.00 hrs-14.00 hrs:	Lunch
Plenary Session-III	
14.00 hrs-15.30 hrs	Renewable Ocean Energy
	 Chair: Dr Vikrom Mathur, Senior Fellow and Head, Climate Initiative, ORF Dr. H Purushottam, Chairman and MD, NRDC Prof P.V. Rao, Visiting Professor, NALSAR School of Law, India Dr Narasimalu Srikanth, Programme Director (Wind and Marine Energy), Energy Research Institute, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Plenary Session-IV

16.00-17.30 hrs **Ports, Shipping, Manufacturing and Other Sectors**

Chair: Dr. H Purushottam, Chairman and MD, NRDC

- **Dr Parameswaran, P.S**, Chief Scientist, National Institute of Oceanography, Goa, India
- **Dr Girish Gujar**, Visiting Fellow, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- Dr HAC Prasad , Senior Economic Advisor, Ministry of Finance, GoI

19.00 hrs **Dinner**

Day 2 (August 18, 2015, Tuesday)

Plenary Session-V

9.30 hrs-11.00 hrs Sea-bed Exploration and Minerals

Chair: Mr Randolph Payet, Secretary General, Indian Ocean Tuna Commission, Seychelles

- **Dr H P Rajan,** Deputy Director(Retired), Division for Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea, UN
- **Dr I Made Andi Arsana**, Lecturer and Researcher, Department of Geodetic and Geomatic Engineering, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia
- **Dr Rahul Sharma**, Chief Scientist, National Institute of Oceanography, Goa, India
- **Dr Monica Chansoria**, Senior Fellow, Centre for Land Warfare Studies (CLAWS), New Delhi
- Dr Pankaj Jha, Director(Research), ICWA, New Delhi, India
- 11.00 hrs-11.30 hrs: **Tea**
- 11.30 hrs-13.00 hrs Concluding Session

Chair: Prof. V. N Attri, Chair, Indian Ocean Rim Studies, IORA

- Presentation of Conference Summary : Dr S K Mohanty, Professor, RIS
- Vote of Thanks : **Dr Vikrom Mathur**, Senior Fellow and Head, Climate Initiative, ORF